Distinguished Overseas Filipino Individuals and Organizations to Receive Presidential Awards

Distinguished Overseas Filipino Individuals and Organizations to Receive Presidential Awards

Coming from various parts of the globe, 56 distinguished Filipino individuals and organizations will join the ranks of esteemed recipients of the Presidential Awards for Filipino Individuals and Organizations Overseas (PAFIOO) during an awarding ceremony on June 29, 2022, ​at Manila Marriott Hotel, Pasay City. The event will also be livestreamed at 5pm, Manila (GMT +8) through the Presidential Awards Facebook page (facebook.com/gawadpangulo).


On behalf of President Rodrigo Roa Duterte, CFO Secretary and Chairperson Justice Francisco P. Acosta (Ret.) will lead the ceremony and confer the most inclusive and the highest honor given by the Philippine government to Filipinos and organizations based overseas.

The PAFIOO awardees were selected from a total of 117 nominations from 31 countries endorsed by 39 Philippine Foreign Service Posts across Asia, North and South America, Europe, and Australia. Nominees whose ratings met the passing grade set by the Technical Committee were further screened by a multi-sectoral Executive Committee headed by the CFO and comprised of senior officials and representatives from the DFA, Office of the Presidential Protocol, Episcopal Commission for Pastoral Care for Migrants, and Itinerant People (ECMI), Dynamic Outsource Solutions 1 Inc. (DOS-1), and GMA Network, Inc. A shortlist was then submitted to the Office of the President for final evaluation and approval.


The Presidential Awards has four distinct categories – Kaanib ng Bayan, Lingkod Sa Kapwa Pilipino, Banaag, and Pamana ng Pilipino.

The LINKAPIL Award is conferred on Filipino individuals or organizations for exceptional or significant contributions to the reconstruction, progress, and development of the Philippines. The LINKAPIL awardees are:

Awardee Country and hometown Post
1. Batangas Association United Kingdom (BAUK) United Kingdom Philippine Embassy (PE) London
2. Cajigas, Roxanne Racquel A. United States of America/Eastern Samar Philippine Consulate General (PCG)

New York

3. Kayumanggi Chorale, Inc. (KCI) United States of America PCG New York
4. Vivian Kiefer-Vargas Switzerland/Manila PE Berne
5. Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers – Qatar Chapter (PICE-Qatar) Qatar PE Doha
6. The Filipino Association in the Isle of Man (FAIM) Isle of Man PE London
7. The Filipino Catholic Society of the Diocese of Calgary (FCSDC) Canada PCG Calgary


The Banaag Award is conferred on Filipino individuals or organizations for their contributions that have significantly benefited or advanced the cause of overseas Filipino communities. The Banaag awardees are:

Awardee Country and hometown Post
1. Mario A. Balboa Saudi Arabia/Ilocos Norte PE Riyadh
2. Bella Aurora P. Belmonte United States of America/Ilocos Norte PCG Los Angeles
3. Ariel C. Bernardo South Korea/Isabela PE Seoul
4. Roy G. Betinol Chile/Davao City PE Santiago
5. Vanda Marie M. Brady Ireland/South Cotabato PE London
6. Chiu, Alex (+) POSTHUMOUS AWARD Canada/Pampanga PCG Toronto
7. Aurora B. Dacanay Canada/Manila PCG Calgary
8. Nancy S. De Jesus France/Rizal PE Paris
9. Rose Cheryl P. Eclarinal-Murdock United Kingdom/Camarines Norte PE London
10. Felix Y. Manalo Foundation, Inc. (FYM Foundation) Canada PCG Toronto
11. Filipino American Service Group, Inc. (FASGI) United States of America PCG Los Angeles
12. Fernandico Jr. Q. Gonong, United States of America/Davao del Sur PCG Los Angeles
13. Igorot UK Charity (Igo-UK) United Kingdom PE London
14. Kapatiran at Ugnayan ng Natatanging Sining at Talento  (KUNST Pilipino) Germany PE Berlin
15. Venecio V. Legaspi, Saudi Arabia/Northern Samar PCG Jeddah
16. London Filipino Centre CIC (LFC-CIC) United Kingdom PE London
17. Bennette E. Misalucha United States of America/Cebu PCG Honolulu
18. National Alliance to Nurture the Aged and the Youth (NANAY) United States of America PE Washington D.C.
19. Rolando M. Nicolas Saudi Arabia/Pangasinan PE Riyadh
20. Linda Nietes-Little United States of America/Antique PCG Los Angeles
21. Philippine Bayanihan Association of Alberta (PBAA) Canada PCG Calgary
22. Philippine-American Friendship Community, Inc. (PAFCOM) United States of America PCG New York
23. Dennis N. Rata Kuwait/Aklan PE Kuwait
24. Jannelle So-Perkins United States of America/Manila PCG Los Angeles
25. Cristy M. Vicentina Singapore/Pampanga PE Singapore
26. Elija Paul G. Villanueva United Kingdom/Manila PE London


The Pamana ng Pilipino Award is conferred on Filipino overseas, who, in exemplifying the talent and industry of the Filipino, have brought the country honor and recognition through excellence and distinction in the pursuit of their work or profession. The Pamana ng Pilipino awardees are:

Awardee Country Post
1. Russ Patrick P. Alcedo Canada/Aklan PCG Toronto
2. Glenda Lynna Anne T. Bonifacio Canada/Leyte PCG Calgary
3. Josefino C. Comiso United States of America/Ilocos Sur PE Washington, D.C.
4. Sheila Maria A. Conejos Singapore/Leyte PE Singapore
5. Danilo M. Favor United Kingdom/Camarines Sur PE London
6. Glenn F. Fernandez China/Zamboanga del Sur PE Beijing
7. Laura D. Garcia United States of America/Agusan del Norte PCG New York
8. Pamela D. Gotangco Switzerland/Nueva Ecija PE Berne
9. Aurtenciano Jr. R. Miranda Italy/Manila PE Rome
10. Ronaldo B. Nilo Qatar/Isabela PE Doha
11. Caroline B. Ong China/Negros Occidental PCG Shanghai
12. Glenn D. Pascual United States of America/Pampanga PCG San Francisco
13. Lord Leomer B. Pomperada United States of America/Antique PCG New York
14. Karen Graciles L. Remo United Arab Emirates/Batangas PE Abu Dhabi
15. Albert Remus R. Rosana Canada/Laguna PCG Calgary
16. Leorey N. Saligan United States of America/Misamis Oriental PE Washington, D.C.
17. Walter S. Villagonzalo Australia/Cebu PCG Melbourne


The Kaanib ng Bayan Award is conferred to foreign individuals or organizations for their exceptional or significant contribution to Philippine reconstruction, progress​,​ and development, or have significantly benefited a sector or community in the Philippines, or advanced the cause of overseas Filipino communities. The Kaanib ng Bayan awardees are:

Awardee Country and Hometown Post
1. Issa Mohammad Ahmed Jordan PE Amman
2. Yasonna H. Laoly Indonesia PE Jakarta
3. Montero Medical Missions (MMM) United States of America PE Washington, D.C.
4. Philippine Bayanihan Society – Singapore (PBSS) Singapore PE Singapore
5. Temasek Foundation, Ltd. (TF) Singapore PE Singapore


A Special Citation will also be given to:

Recipient Country Post
1. Coalition of the Filipino American Chambers of Commerce (COFACC) United States America PCG Los Angeles

Institutionalized in 1991 through Executive Order No. 498, the Presidential Awards for Filipino Individuals and Organizations Overseas is a biennial search for overseas-based organizations or individuals who have dedicated their work ​to the service of Filipinos in the Philippines or abroad, selflessly supported relief, rehabilitation, and development programs in the home country, or excelled in their field of work or profession.

For more information, please contact:

PAFIOO Secretariat
Commission on Filipinos Overseas
E-mail: pafioo@cfo.gov.ph 
Facebook: www.facebook.com/gawadpangulo
Website: www.presidentialawards.cfo.gov.ph