Philippine President Ferdinand Marcos Jr to send off Paris Olympics-bound Philippine delegation

2024 June 19

MANILA – President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. is scheduled to attend the send-off ceremony for the members of the Paris Olympics-bound Philippine delegation at the Marble Hall of the Ayuntamiento de Manila in Intramuros on Friday.

Expected to join the President in the evening ceremony are Executive Secretary Lucas Bersamin, Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) president Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino, Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chairperson Richard “Dickie” Bachmann, Philippine Olympian Association president Gillian Akiko Thomson-Guevara, and national sports association officials.

Those who qualified for Paris are pole-vaulter EJ Obiena; gymnasts Carlos Yulo, Aleah Finnegan, Levi Ruivivar, and Emma Malabuyo; boxers Aira Villegas, Nesthy Petecio, Hergie Bacyadan, Eumir Marcial, and Carlo Paalam; rower Joanie Delgaco; weightlifters Vanessa Sarno, John Ceniza, and Elreen Ando; and fencer Sam Catantan.

Some of them will leave on June 22 for Metz, France where they will stay in a training facility for their final preparations.

A Holy Mass will usher in the send-off ceremony, which will be highlighted by the turnover of the national flag from the PSC to the President and Tolentino.

The POC chief will also present to Marcos the official training and competition apparel from Peak and Adidas.

Meanwhile, Cignal TV will present Team Philippines’ Paris Olympics song “Isang Daang Taong Laban Para Sa Bayan,” about the country’s 100 years of participation in the quadrennial tournament.

Cignal TV will chronicle the journey of Filipino athletes – from the buildup in their preparations and training, their respective campaigns, and the aftermath of their performance in the Olympics – which will be aired and featured on various MediaQuest platforms, primarily on Cignal TV platforms, including Free-to-Air and Pay TV, and on digital and social media through One Sports, One News, and News5.

Jean Malanum (PNA)